Over-training??

Options
BoxerLover96
BoxerLover96 Posts: 82 Member
edited February 2019 in Fitness and Exercise
I'm no expert, and just started really enjoying the benefits of eating healthier and working out. My ultimate goal is to tone up my body (build a little muscle), and run a sub-30 min 5k. That being said, I'm worried I might be over-training my legs by working on either the treadmill or elliptical on a daily basis?? (Although I don't feel burnt out or overly fatigued.) Here is my typical weekly workout routine:

Sunday: Chest, Triceps (30 min) plus Treadmill Speed Intervals (30 min)
Monday: Back, Biceps (30 min) plus Elliptical (20-30 min)
Tuesday: 5k run on Treadmill
Wednesday: Shoulders (30 min) plus Elliptical (20-30 min)
Thursday: Legs (30 min) plus Treadmill Speed Intervals (30 min)
Friday: Rest (day varies)
Saturday: Rest (day varies)

Feedback?

Replies

• Running2Fit
    Running2Fit Posts: 702 Member
    Options
    Do you ever run outside? I crush my average pace time from the treadmill when I get outside. Went from an 11:30 minute pace on the treadmill to a 9:30 average pace just by getting off the treadmill.

Personally, I don’t like to do strength training on my run days. I’d start doing full body workouts twice a week after the elliptical. I also put my long run at the end of the week not the middle so I have a rest day before and after.

I also find it helpful to follow a training plan for my running. Currently doing Hal Hidgon’s novice 10K plan but there’s lots of plans out there that would help you improve your speed.
  • karlpm
    karlpm Posts: 78 Member
    Options
    Have a rest/mobility day mid week. Yoga, pilates or just stretching. Will help with strength and you'll feel better.

Also agree with running outside, I go much faster, to the point where I assumed my GPS was wrong but did the times and distance and it was right.
  • lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Options