Breaking the sugar cycle?

Options
Hi everyone, I’m new to MFP - I’m working on breaking the sugar cycle. I know that I feel better in general when I have less processed sugar. But the call to the candies and cookies is very loud! Does anyone have suggestions for breaking the sugar addiction?

Replies

• mariannekehl
    mariannekehl Posts: 66 Member
    Options
    I am trying to do the same thing. I recently gave up alcohol so i expected the sugar cravings to be fierce but wow this is bad.
  • Ninnoc06
    Ninnoc06 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    I know it’s the same with sweets for me - the headaches are horrible!
  • Ninnoc06
    Ninnoc06 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    BZAH10 wrote: »
    Many times cravings for sweets is much more of a habit and a comforting ritual. For example, candy in the afternoon, dessert after dinner, etc. It's a habit that can be changed. Replace the sweet with something else you enjoy whether it be food related (flavored unsweetened tea) or a 10 minute break to take a quick walk or listen to a couple songs you really enjoy.

I like this a lot - I love a good herbal tea or a good stretch. It’s hard at the office especially when they keep offering snacks but maybe a cup of tea or a quick walk outside will be enough?
  • Shexio
    Shexio Posts: 184 Member
    Options
    -- Seriously, salt ? Can I have dill or sweet pickles?
    Is any of it related to the fact I don't eat a lot of fat (added fat) and I'm a veggie/fruit + oats girl?

Ugh, I know...some of mine HAS to be the fact I'm not balancing out protein/fat/carbs.

I want to get through a day...but I fail by 2pm.
    Trying again right now...no sugar from 3:30pm - bedtime.....
    and then NO sugar tomorrow morning. WHy is this SO hard to do???

• rheddmobile
    rheddmobile Posts: 6,840 Member
    Options