Some help with protein and calories please.

Options
Hi im very new to counting calories and really have no idea how this all works.Ive read my daily minimum should be 1200 cal and i do sometimes struggle to get that in though other times i totally blow it. Im not too fussed to be honest i figure it all evens itself out.
But i am wandering I am mostly always over in the protein department....I am currently on a proetein shake to help with the weight loss and because im busy so its easier sometimes to grab a shake rather than starve myself when on the go and if im here at home ill eat something protein rather than carbs because im wanting to loose weight. How does that influence weight loss and the grand scheme of it all?

Replies

• Valechka
    Valechka Posts: 192
    Options
    just set your settings at 30-40 % of protein
  • lmaharj
    lmaharj Posts: 82 Member
    Options
    Protein helps with the repair of your muscles and is a great meal replacement when you're on the go. I'm currently only having a protein shake for breakfast and lunch (nothing else). If you're not over stuffing yourself and are getting adequate nutrition (vitamins if not from whole foods) then you're not really doing anything to hurt yourself.
  • aippolito1
    aippolito1 Posts: 4,894 Member
    Options
    25-30% protein is ideal for a woman on a calorie deficit diet (which is what you're on with MFP). 30-40% is high especially if you're just starting out. I struggle to get 25% everyday but my base is 1380 and I also eat most of my exercise calories. Higher protein is better for when you're trying to lose the last 15 or less pounds or for someone who just doesn't do well with carbs.
  • sugarbone
    sugarbone Posts: 454 Member
    Options