Should you change your calories after you lost weight? (to lose more weight)

Options
I was just wondering when should I change my calories

Replies

• janejellyroll
    janejellyroll Posts: 25,763 Member
    Options
    I changed mine every ten pounds or so.
  • lx1x
    lx1x Posts: 38,311 Member
    Options
    I changed mine every ten pounds or so.

Same here
  • ExistingFish
    ExistingFish Posts: 1,259 Member
    Options
    I changed mine when I saw the weight loss plateau for a few weeks. Probably every 2 months.
  • TerranandKaylynsmommy
    TerranandKaylynsmommy Posts: 321 Member
    Options
    I thought they auto-adjusted
  • ExistingFish
    ExistingFish Posts: 1,259 Member
    Options

I'm not sure, I think MFP does. I used TDEE and adjusted my calorie goal on my own.
  • janejellyroll
    janejellyroll Posts: 25,763 Member
    Options

They may now. I've been maintaining since 2015, but when I was losing weight I had to go into my goals to get a new calorie goal after losing weight.
  • apullum
    apullum Posts: 4,838 Member
    Options

I'm not sure, I think MFP does. I used TDEE and adjusted my calorie goal on my own.

MFP does not automatically adjust your calories unless they’ve changed that recently. You should recalculate your goals every 10-15 pounds or so.
  • vivian2341
    vivian2341 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    How do you change your calories goals?? I tried everything and it would not change!
  • amusedmonkey
    amusedmonkey Posts: 10,330 Member
    Options
    There are a couple of ways to do this. You could either recalculate every 10 pounds or so, or set your calories to expected goal maintenance minus 250 and just keep using the same goal. Your rate of weight loss will slow down on its own the more you lose without having to make calorie shifts.
  • Britxclarity
    Britxclarity Posts: 235 Member
    Options