Is this routine OK for weight loss and tone?

Options
Hi and hello everyone :)

I'm new to myfitnesspal and the whole health & fitness scene pretty much much entire life.

At the age of 29 and 239 pounds, I wanted to finally start changing these bad habits I've had my entire life and decided to challenge myself to a new lifestyle and routine.

Anyhoo, I've been limiting myself to 1400 net calories a day after workouts and doing 5 days a week Monday-Friday with two days off of rest.

So far I've kept it up, and just starting my second week, with the below routine.

Monday - Rowing Machine + Abs
Tuesday - Exercise Bike
Wednesday - Treadmill
Thursday - Exercise Bike
Friday - Rowing Machine + Abs
1h a day, and 15 additional minutes with Ab exercises.

I chose these exercises as I own the equipment which has sat dusty in my home for some time.

I'm sore, tired, achy all over but I'm definitely feeling better already :)

My questions though, as somebody who has little knowledge of working out is this routine acceptable if I can maintain it?

And also, do I need to fear to bulk up to much?

I'd like to get toned, but not really build a giant upper body. Definitely not trying to turn into She-Hulk as cute as she is. :)

Should I consider changing this in any way if my goal is weight loss, and wanting to move to the 140 pounds range while toning up?

Thanks for the help!

Replies

• CheekyBreekyBecca
    CheekyBreekyBecca Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    Well thank you :) I'll look that exercise program up :)
  • CheekyBreekyBecca
    Options
    You are eating in a deficit and not lifting weights. So no, you will not bulk.

Well that's good to hear :) thank you. But does the rowing machine not count as something similar to lifting weights?
    Again i'm far from even a novice at exercise but I was reading about what muscles are targeted.

I was just worried that because I'm doing it twice a week and for an hour I might bulk up or something.