Exercising, calorie deficit, tracking, yet not losing weight?

Options
So I did strict keto as a New Years Resolution in 2018. i went from 197 to my lowest at 154 at the beginning of September. I maintained, and in December I got injured at my job and went on light duty. (I am a correctional officer so my activity level was very high) I was on light duty for 6 months and just got off. I weighed myself at the end and I went up to about 172. Between full time work, school, and low energy output, I can understand the weight gain. At the beginning of July I was cleared and I began the high activity of the jail, and walking my dog for about 45-60 mins every morning at a fast pace. I have also began to track my food and limit any junk food. I have always done low carb and I am more strict on the keto side. I just weighed myself yesterday and I am up to 176. Someone please let me understand why I am gaining weight and not losing! According to my apple watch I am walking about 15,000 steps a day and burning anywhere from 600-700 calories. I am going crazy and feel like giving up!

Replies

• corinasue1143
    corinasue1143 Posts: 7,467 Member
    Options
    Don’t give up. Figure it out. Could it be water from the sudden extra exercise? Or TOM? Could it be your weight just doing that little dance it does when you make a big change in eating? Stick with it, keep doing what you know is right, and give it a little more time.
  • smoofinator
    smoofinator Posts: 635 Member
    Options
    Read this. It'll help you understand scale fluctuations and make you feel better, promise: http://physiqonomics.com/the-weird-and-highly-annoying-world-of-scale-weight-and-fluctuations/
  • TallGent66
    TallGent66 Posts: 84 Member
    edited July 2019
    Options
    It will vary. I actually lost weight a few days on my 'off (movie) day'.

I hit a wall, and folks here suggested I up my intake and protein. (I was way undereating.)

Keep the faith.
  • TrishSeren