Measuring Pasta

Options
Hi!

I'm really new to measuring food . I'm wondering if : 1) it's better to measure pasta dry or cooked? and 2) How do I accurately measure 2 oz ( 1 cup) dry? Is it better to use a measuring cup or put it in a bowl and weigh it?

Replies

• mustnothrowcantelopes
    Options
    UPDATE: I put 4oz dry to cook, which is 2 servings. I figure I'd spill out , into a measuring cup, however much would come out to 1 cup , but when I weighed it on the scale it was 5.8 oz. I'm really confused! HEEEELLP!!!
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,121 Member
    edited September 2019
    Options
    Use the entries in the database that are the same as your packaging. The packages will give 2 ounces (56g) as a serving for pasta. That will be 170-200 calories. That is UNcooked.

Cooked - the weights will vary.
  • snowflake954
    snowflake954 Posts: 8,399 Member
    Options
    To accurately weigh pasta, it should be weighed uncooked. Get a digital food scale and weigh it on there--easy, peasy.
  • mustnothrowcantelopes
    Options
    @snowflake954 - I did but then how do I divide it evenly ? I made enough for 2 servings .
  • LyndaBSS
    LyndaBSS Posts: 6,964 Member
    Options
    I weigh raw in a bowl.

If it's more than one serving cooked, I don't measure it again. I eyeball into two bowls.
  • snowflake954
    snowflake954 Posts: 8,399 Member
    Options
    @snowflake954 - I did but then how do I divide it evenly ? I made enough for 2 servings .

Since you only have to divide it in half--I'd just do that. I make pasta almost everyday for 4 to 7 people. I live in Italy. Do as Wilson suggested if you need to be 100% accurate, however, I'd eyeball as Lynda suggested.
  • mustnothrowcantelopes
    Options
    @wilson10102018 - A most excellent response, good sir!
  • Womona
    Womona Posts: 1,630 Member
    edited September 2019
    Options