Beginner Yoga Motivational Partner(s)?

Options
So I mentioned in my introduction post, but I'm looking to give a 3-4 days a week yoga routine a try and I would love to connect up with some others that like me, are complete beginners to yoga.

A little about me and my situation is that I suffer from ongoing muscle weakness caused by nerve root deterioration. This has resulted in me growing less and less active over the years, and subsequently putting on about 20lbs over the past 3 years.

Due to the nature of my physical limitations, I'm looking to try something easy paced and low impact (my last exercise attempts involved a treadmill, and they did not go well :D Footdrop and crappy reflexes resulted in many falls). Yoga caught my attention because it has the potential to really help me improve my flexibility, balance, and muscle weakness and can be easily catered to target my biggest problem areas, while for the most part remaining stationary to limit the risk of falls. Or so I hope!

That said, I've never done yoga, so this is certainly a new experiment to me, and I would love to have someone (or multiple someone's!) else along to help keep each other motivated, and to make each other feel less silly for struggling with simple things at the start.

Replies

• lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Options
    I would encourage you to connect at a local yoga studio or yoga class at a gym or community center. There will be people of all skill levels and the instructor will be able to guide you regarding your unique needs and to learn safe yoga movement. No one will judge you.
  • Raghild
    Raghild Posts: 5 Member
    edited January 2020
    Options