Newbie (with probably frustrating questions, sorry)

Hey there,

I'm relatively new to my weight loss journey (in earnest about 2 months now). After experimenting with different apps and products I've finally settled on the below setup:

MFP App
Apple Watch 3

For some context, I'm looking to lose about a stone and tone up my body. After that I just want to maintain my fitness and be able to treat myself to an occasional takeaway (not the 2-3 I was having a week before!).

I'm not hugely over my healthy weight, but enough to get me down and times. This is all very new to me - I've played around with counting step calories/making some up etc. but I think I've finally settled on a system which should meet my needs. This forum has been super helpful from reading, but I'm just looking for a bit of reassurance I guess that I'm doing the right things?

Just as another caveat, I suffer from OCD pretty badly and am wary about becoming too obsessed with this. I feel good about things as they are, but I'm very much aware of what I could spiral into with it. I just want to stick to my calorie goal, log my exercises and eat those extra calories when I earn them.

So..I'm:

1) Keeping to my daily goal of 1800 calories (set by my PT)
2) I am loading in all of my food/portions etc accurately
3) I have turned off step counting on my Apple watch and MFP as the adjusted calories were confusing me/stressing me out and I'm not that fussed about steps anyway
4) On days where I don't do any exercise (i.e. no gym or no walks over 1 mile), I stick to 1800
5) On days where I log exercises (via 'workout' on my watch - for example a gym workout set to 'Open' or my 2k walk to work marked as 'Outdoor Walk'), I sometimes eat back those extra calories

At a high-level, does that all sound ok? I don't want to be in a position where I'm counting more calories than I've actually earned if that makes sense?

Sorry that this is a painfully lengthy and specific post.

M

Replies

• Pipsqueak1965