Keto- carb slip up yesterday

Options
I've been doing keto for roughly 2 months now, and it's been going great so far. It's easy for me to stick to and I've been eating more healthy/homemade meals than before.

I did however go out to dinner with some friends yesterday, and didn't do my research before hand. Basically I had a big plate of chicken wings without realizing they were breaded. Totally broke my streak.

No big deal, I'll brush myself off and get back to it tommorow/today. I did have a moment of thinking "well, I might as well go home and have an ice cream sandwich that are in the freezer since today is a hella cheat day" but I held myself back!

But then... My siblings brought out my ultimate weakness. Poore Brother's Salt and Vinegar potato chips. I could eat half a bag in one go, no joke. I kept it to just one serving (14 chips) and then left and brushed my teeth.

I don't regret my choices, all things considered I think I did well and I'll do better in the future. Now, I'm just noticing how poorly my stomach seems to be handling the carbs. Just super acidic stomach sloshing around, burping, and feeling just generally unpleasant.

Has anyone else on keto noticed similar adverse reactions to carb slip ups? It just seems somewhat extreme for a handful of potatoes. 😂

Replies

• dewit
    dewit Posts: 1,468 Member
    edited March 2020
    Options
    You are strong willed! 🏋️‍♀️
    If that's good for you, get back to it as if nothing happened. In the big picture, that's like a drop of water in a lake.
    I can't do keto, because I have vegan days and would not come through without carbs. Or so I think...
  • dhampir_princess
    dhampir_princess Posts: 71 Member
    Options
    dewit wrote: »
    I know that some people DO do vegan keto, but I haven't ever been vegan or vegetarian so I don't even know where to start trying to keto-fy that way of eating.

Thanks for the encouragement too!
  • wendyheath32
    wendyheath32 Posts: 74 Member
    Options