Excerise calories

Options
karen2512
karen2512 Posts: 11 Member
Hi, total newbie so forgive the what may seem a daft question. I've synced my fitbit to my fitness pal and it's adding extra calories. Adding to my daily total. I'm assuming they ate there to be ate if I need them to be? So allowing myself a treat or something?

Thank you

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options
    karen2512 wrote: »
    Hi, total newbie so forgive the what may seem a daft question. I've synced my fitbit to my fitness pal and it's adding extra calories. Adding to my daily total. I'm assuming they ate there to be ate if I need them to be? So allowing myself a treat or something?

Thank you

Yes...you're getting an adjustment because your actual activity per your device exceeds the activity level you've selected in MFP. Just be wary of overestimates. I've been doing this for years so I have my exercise calories pretty locked in, but it takes some trial and error. Many people will use, say 50%...which is rather arbitrary, but a reasonably good starting point from which you can start making adjustments per your actual results.
  • karen2512
    Options
    Thank you. To be honest I am not needing to use them but just wondered just in case I fancied a glass ( bottle) of wine!! 🤣
  • karen2512
    Options
    I've actually unsynced my fitbit as the extra calories were there just crying out at me and I Could do without the temptation when I've been doing so well and the whole point was to loose weight
  • moonangel12
    moonangel12 Posts: 971 Member
    Options
    I've actually unsynced my fitbit as the extra calories were there just crying out at me and I Could do without the temptation when I've been doing so well and the whole point was to loose weight