Welcome to Debate Club! Please be aware that this is a space for respectful debate, and that your ideas will be challenged here. Please remember to critique the argument, not the author.

"setpoint" vs healthy BMI and intuitive eating with PCOS

Raegold
Raegold Posts: 191 Member
Curious people's thoughts on these...
Is it possible to accept a setpoint weight that you are genetically determined to have even if it's not a healthy BMI or body fat percentage? I'm a nurse so I know there is a lot of scientific evidence about the detrimental effects of obesity on CV disease and endocrine effects. But also lots of confounding factors.

Also seeing a lot about "intuitive eating" around... But can this apply when you have PCOS or another issue where your hunger signals are adversely affected by your hormones?

Replies

• psychod787
    psychod787 Posts: 4,088 Member
    Raegold wrote: »
    Curious people's thoughts on these...
    Is it possible to accept a setpoint weight that you are genetically determined to have even if it's not a healthy BMI or body fat percentage? I'm a nurse so I know there is a lot of scientific evidence about the detrimental effects of obesity on CV disease and endocrine effects. But also lots of confounding factors.

Also seeing a lot about "intuitive eating" around... But can this apply when you have PCOS or another issue where your hunger signals are adversely affected by your hormones?

oh btw.... I'm a nurse like thing.... err yeah a nurse.... Love your black and white photo... looks classy!
  • Geneveremfp
    Geneveremfp Posts: 504 Member