A different angle

Options
Hi Everyone,
My name is Victoria and I am joining as a new member, however I am not new to dieting. I have used my fitness pal in the past, as well as many other approaches. I have not been very successful in my weight loss journey over the last 20 years. I am a nurse and feel that I have pretty good knowledge of what a person should do to lose weight, yet I am failing. I have known for years that it is all about a person's head space. So this time I am changing my angle. I am 64 years old and now or never need to focus on improving my health to make this part of my life the best it can be. I want to stay active and truly enjoy my golden years. I am retired and do not have the stress in my life that often comes with living in the "rat race". My goal is to visualize the life I want to be living and to identify and start taking steps to get there. The life I want to be living is active, so I need to feel and look healthy. That means paying attention to the nutrients that go in my mouth. I heard that is so important :) If you can believe it, this has never been my focus. I have only worried about the amount of calories and how fast I can get it done. I hope to not even worry about that, and instead find out how to get the daily requirements and explore new healthy choices. This will be a hurdle for me. I have made bad choices for years. I hope to learn new eating options and other ideas from this community. Hears to learning new ways of doing things at every age.

Replies

• LifeILuvUFeelinGroovy
    Options
    Hi there! You can do this! I am just joining again for the umpteenth time. I sent my husband a friend request from MFP today and had to show him how to accept it. It was funny that he had like 10 other Friends, but they were all me from years past. I guess my thought is that it’s never too late. Like you I have a pretty good grasp on what it takes, but it’s in the right mindset. Welcome to the new you!
  • AnnPT77