Going vegan while also doing extreme endurance running and weight lifting -- watching the protein

Options
kirkholmes11
kirkholmes11 Posts: 4 Member
edited January 2021 in Recipes
I went first vegetarian then vegan starting in 2015. I learned the importance of balancing training and diet and have made many tweaks. I am an older, normal male who has been battling being overweight since my 20s. I'd also like to hear about other experiences as I continue to learn. I am not a doctor or a researcher so I am always open to new information and insights.

I was a lifelong beef and chicken lover so the 2015 transition to plant-based eating was not easy. At first, I cheated from time to time but have been very consistent in recent years. Also, I was never a runner but started running in 2004 as a way to lose weight when I was 60 pounds heavier than I am now. The two of these life changes came together when I made the switch to a vegan diet just as I began ramping up my running training from being a half-marathoner to a marathoner on January 1, 2015. I have had some real high points that I am proud of. I admittedly run very slow but I have been able to run for very long periods of time. From 2015 to 2018, I ran 11 full marathons, 4 half-marathons, and 4 ultra-marathons (2 of them 50 miles). I increased my training load from about 20 miles a week to a high of 50 miles a week. So, it is clear that I did not suffer from a lack of endurance, strength or recovery time when I moved to a plant-based diet. With respect to recovery time, I ran marathons on successive weekends and once ran a marathon the week after I had completed my first 50-mile race. As a bonus, I dropped 20 more pounds (after already having lost 40 from just running) and all of my blood test results improved dramatically.