Can't reach my protein intake

lolamangue
lolamangue Posts: 8 Member
edited February 2021 in Food and Nutrition
Hi!

About me: I'm a 25 year old girl, 6 ft tall, weighs about 143,3 pounds, quite sedentary since I am a student and it's a pandemic, but I lift weights 4 x week and my goal is to build muscle.

I have come to understand that enough protein is crucial for building muscle. According to internet, I should be eating between 1,2 g - 2,2 g of protein per KG (preferably at LEAST 1,6 g protein/kg). That means I should eat between 79,2 g - 145,2 g of protein everyday (preferably at least 105,6 g protein). My calorie goal per day lands between 1900 - 2200 kcal (this is the range I have calculated through different sources, yes they all give you different numbers), so it really depends on my appetite that day. I have tried strictly 1900 everyday and it left me fatigued and strictly 2200 everyday and it left me nauseous, bloated and uncomfortable. Lately I just listen to my body instead, and still land somewhere in that range.

Now to my problem. I try to track my macros, to make sure I get at least 105 g of protein per day, and I have 1900-2200 kcals per day to work with, that shouldn't be too hard, right? Well.. It is actually infuriating. I normally land between 60-80 g of protein per day, which I think is too low considering what the internet says, my activity level, body measurements and goals. If I want to reach 105 g, that means I lack between 50 g - 25 g per day which is almost 1-2 meals.