Quitting Smoking & Getting Healthy

Options
Hello everyone!

I'm Lydia, I've been using MFP for a few years now on and off, but I REALLY struggle to stick to it.
I have decided that I NEED to quit smoking and get back in shape! Looking back on my old photos I looked great, but now I am so unhappy with my body.
It's time for drastic changes, so any advice relating to motivation, quitting smoking, eating healthy (especially beating sugar cravings) and toning up/losing fat would be amazing. Thank you in advance xxx

Replies

• lhcp12
    lhcp12 Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    I don't think that a drastic change is necessarily the right path. Drastic changes are often hard, or even impossible, to sustain. In my experience, I have done best when easing into things and making small changes. For example, when I started MFP I made the quintessential beginner mistake by reducing my intake to about 1200 calories. It was unsustainable for me (30s F, 5'10 and 165lbs) and I quit. The second time I restarted MFP I made a much more reasonable goal of losing 0.5lbs a week but for the first week, all I did was log what I normally ate and then I slowly started making some changes. I found that weighing food helped significantly with my logging. I found that a small mandarin orange provides me with the sweetness I love and has far fewer calories than the chocolate I also love (and still eat, just not as often). I learned that no matter how hard I try I cannot "eye" a serving of potato chips so I need to weigh out a portion because it is too easy to eat the whole family size bag in one sitting. I learned that a serving of rice and a serving of pasta is significantly smaller than I ever realized. I also found that adding several serving of vegetables to my pasta and rice dishes helps to fill me up much more than a double serving of pasta or rice.