New to lifting, super weak, calorie deficit, early plateau

Hi all,

I'm 47, male, 175cm (5'7). I have never lifted weights before. And I'm super weak.

I started lifting 2 months ago. But I'm also on a caloric deficit because I need to loose weight (BF>29%, BMI>31). I asked about this here on the forums (Strength Training on a calorie deficit?) and everybody basically confirmed that I should start lifting right away.

I'm doing Starting Strength and started with these 5RM values: Squat 40kg (88lbs), Bench 30kg (66lbs), Deadlift 50kg (110lbs). For the first weeks it went pretty well. But now it seems I'm alredy at a plateau. At least with the Squat at 60kg (132lbs). I can still do the sets, but my form is failing.

Should I still try to progressive load the exercises?

Or should I accept that I probably won't build much strength on a calorie deficit. (Side note: I'm still eating ~140g protein in per day). But I could up my volume and keep good form?

I want to be down to at least a BMI 27 and BF% of ~15% before I eat at a calorie surplus.

PS. I'm still doing high bar squats because my shoulder mobility doesn't allow me yet to do low bar. That's my goal though.

Replies

• sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    When you are starting out gaining strength should be rapid which is why beginner programs can have a fast and linear increase in weights.
    A lot of that initial strength gain is simply using your existing muscles better - recruit more of the fibres, fire the muscles harder.
    But after a while you will tap that out and more advanced programming might be the route to go. Two months might be unusually quick but just a few months isn't unusual.

Can you clarify your calorie deficit by your current rate of weight loss? (There's a trade off between losing quickly and performing well in the gym.)

"My form is failing" - do you mean you are struggling to complete the last rep(s)?