Getting nowhere except frustrated

Options
2»

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options
    A 34 mile bike ride is going to cause water retention, even in someone who is well trained and in good shape...it's still a lot of work and you're still breaking down muscle which needs to be repaired which causes inflammation and water retention.
    doutri2 wrote: »
    Hey, callsitlikeIseeit! That was a really informative post. I do have a food scale, but I have rarely used it for my own food intake. I do cook for a living, so I've used it for that mostly. I will be referring back to the flowchart you shared. Helpful. Though I will be honest that I've never understood the "eating back the calories you burned part" of the weightloss program. So, I eat more, but it doesn't seem to work that way in the formula on the Diary page. For example, on Sunday when I biked almost 34 miles for 4 hours, MFP said that I burned 1,024 calories. I still stuck to a mostly protein, veggie, fruit diet, but felt that I earned my gluten free cupcake with frosting. However, when I logged everything, it only gave me 155 "points" towards my exercise and then I was over though I didn't overeat after my bike ride. I just don't get it.

I'm assuming you have a device linked to MFP? If that is the case, your adjustment is only a reconciliation between what you set as your activity level on MFP to what your estimated actual activity level is per your device. IE, if you are set to active on MFP, you're likely to get only very small adjustments because that generous amount of activity has already been accounted for in your activity level.

Synced devices do not send over calories for a specific exercise or workout...they only send over an adjustment to reconcile MFP and your device.
  • Jthanmyfitnesspal
    Jthanmyfitnesspal Posts: 3,521 Member
    Options
    doutri2 wrote: »