Weight loss apathy

Hey everyone. Since I’ve joined and started taking a more proactive approach to my health like, 40 days ago, I’ve lost 12 pounds. The doctor told me that’s a pretty good thing.

The thing is, I feel nothing. I don’t feel different, my clothes don’t feel different, but the biggest thing is emotionally.

I’m not happy for myself, proud of myself, sad for myself, anything. It’s just “meh”. Other people are proud of me, but for some reason, I’m not excited about this like they are.

I’m going to talk to a psychiatrist about this too but I just wanted to see if anyone else had a similar experience and how they were able to understand what they were feeling.

Thank you :)

Replies

• goal06082021
    goal06082021 Posts: 2,130 Member
    It's good that you're planning to consult a mental health professional - I can't diagnose you through the internet (or at all, I'm not a MH pro), but what you describe sure rhymes with depression IME. The good news is that depression is a treatable problem, no matter what your jerkbrain tells you about itself.
  • antonia_yes
    antonia_yes Posts: 70 Member
    Maybe you could have a fitness goal? Being able to say 'losing weight has enabled me to walk all the way up that hill for the amazing view' or 'keep up with my friends at a theme park' or something might be more inspiring than just losing a number to be a smaller number.
  • ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,481 Member
    Well it could be that you're not excited because if you see no physical change, BUT you had to change your eating lifestyle and aren't happy with it, that it's the "what's the point" attitude. Very common. The first 10lbs or so will mostly be water weight drop initially. So if you take that into consideration, you may have only lost 2lbs of fat over 40 days. That's usually not going to show a lot of physical difference, especially if you have a lot of weight to lose.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer
    IDEA Fitness member