62 and one last chance

Options
Hi like most on here I am over weight because I eat to much and don’t move my my fat body enough, I am a retired farmer so was very Active , not now but still eating the same , need to lose weight for so may reasons so here I go 😊🐳

Replies

• springlering62
    springlering62 Posts: 7,913 Member
    Options
    I am right on your heels at 59, and have lost 40% of my total body weight in less than three years weighing, logging and exercising. MFP was a godsend for me. There are many many people here who are older and are already successful, or actively working towards it.

Weight loss eliminated my painful (and frightening) GERD, and eased the early beginning of arthritis by taking weight of the joints, while exercise lubricates them. I feel 1,000% better than I did almost a hundred pounds ago. If you’re willing to work towards the goal, I can’t even express how much better you will feel, both physically and mentally.

Don’t beat yourself up. The only thing I have is regret that I let myself go for so long. I used to beat myself up, too, call myself names, make faces of disgust at myself in the mirror. Don’t do that. It didn’t accomplish anything, and that mindset will hold you back.

Here is a group you might want to check out:

https://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10718336/60-yrs-and-up/p1

You CAN do this, with application and patience if you’re willing to do more than talk the talk of wanting to. The crazy thing is, once you “reach the other side”, you’re also going to realize it wasn’t hard at all. It’s taking the first steps and sticking with it that’s the hardest part, and that’s all in your head and nowhere else.
  • rosebarnalice
    rosebarnalice Posts: 3,488 Member
    Options
    I just turned 60, and lost 55 lbs over the past year
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,853 Member
    edited June 2021
    Options
    Came here to say "Hi and Welcome", plus link the thread Springlering62 already linked. 😉