Downtime in trucking.

Options
I am a truck driver and that means I usually have a lot of down time waiting for loads. Any suggestions on type of workouts I can do just outside my truck? Also I feel like I’d be embarrassed and suggestions how to push past that? Tia!

Replies

• SuzySunshine99
    SuzySunshine99 Posts: 2,984 Member
    Options
    Do you have to stay by your truck, or can you go for a walk/run while you wait?
  • Plasicage
    Plasicage Posts: 337 Member
    Options
    What about bands? It may look embarrassing but you can do squats and other exercises using resistance bands. I would probably do.quick change (like wear underneath) to gym clothes so it doesn't look awkward at first.
  • MaltedTea
    MaltedTea Posts: 6,286 Member
    Options
    Truck stops I've seen are generally wide expanses of concrete. Could you not find a safe area to park your truck and exercise beside it (while still being visible to others because, well, predator attacks, alien invasions and zombie hordes are real)?

And, depending on the load, could you not workout IN the back of the truck? Even in a narrow space, you could do push-ups or other body resistance exercise.

Lastly, thanks for being out there for us so that we get our produce and whatever else you ship in your loads 🙏🏿
  • spiriteagle99
    spiriteagle99 Posts: 3,676 Member
    Options
    Brisk walking around the truck stop is an option. When we travel with our dog, the fact that he needs to be walked means we get more exercise, which makes us a lot less stiff and sore on long drives. Yoga would be an option too, or if you can get past the need to avoid having people look at you, something like tai chi can be a good workout that doesn't require equipment. Hand weights don't take up much space, so you could create a short workout using them.
  • springlering62
    springlering62 Posts: 7,473 Member
    Options