I’m confused

Options
I’m trying to lose weight and it says my calories per day should be 2640, so far I’ve eaten a little over 2724. Yet it says I have left over calories?? I’m so confused. I’m very new to this and calorie counting.

Replies

• asa_nanica
    asa_nanica Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    It's because it is adding back in the exercise you did.
  • DancingMoosie
    DancingMoosie Posts: 8,619 Member
    Options
    It's because you added exercise calories. Those can be eaten as well.
  • bigmouthaj
    bigmouthaj Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    So I am essentially eating more than my “goal” calories? That’s where I’m lost haha
  • bigmouthaj
    Options
    So it doesn’t already subtract the 500? I put my weight and activity level and it gave me that number. So I have to do the subtractions of what they gave me?
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,713 Member
    Options
    bigmouthaj wrote: »
    So it doesn’t already subtract the 500? I put my weight and activity level and it gave me that number. So I have to do the subtractions of what they gave me?

No. It did the subtraction.

In the example I was trying to explain, MFP would've given the basic daily goal of 2000 calories, which already subtracts the 500 calories needed to lose a pound a week . . . before doing any exercise.

If you do exercise, you burn more calories, right? So if (as that example person) you want to keep at the "lose a pound a week" level, you eat the exercise calories . . . because the 500 calories needed for your pound a week loss are already in the base calorie goal.

Any exercise calories on top of that, MFP intends you to eat back, so you stay even-up at the same weight loss rate.