New here and confused...Help! :)

Options
Hello everyone! Im new to the whole diet and excerise thing and trying to understand everything...

Basically, I'm working out doing 1 hour of cardio, 6 days per week. I am doing Mel B's totally fit

I'm keeping my diet to the reccomended 1200 calories per day and when I enter all my daily stuff in, I end up with a deficit of 500-600

Is this what i should have? Should i be eating more? Less?

Ive been doing this for about 1 week now, and although i feel hungry throughout the day..i can control it with water so im happy with this amount.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated....Thanks! :)

Replies

• channa007
    channa007 Posts: 419 Member
    Options
    Most would agree that you're supposed to eat the calories you burn off.
  • willdbill0712
    willdbill0712 Posts: 83 Member
    Options
    Depends on exactly what you are eating that makes up those calories.

Are you eating 3 meals a day or 5-6 smaller ones? Everyone is different, but eating 5-6 times a day with a good amount of protein helps me stay full along with constantly drinking water.

Many will tell you that eating back 1/2 of your exercise calories will help with overall weight loss.
  • Nicholec2003
    Nicholec2003 Posts: 158 Member
    Options
    you should be eating at least your 1200 daily calories. That daily goal already includes a deficit that is set by MFP so, you also should be eating your exercise calories too. I had trouble to with understanding how eating more actually made me lose more in the end, but it is working so far.
  • laceyfowler
    laceyfowler Posts: 127 Member
    Options
    Hi Hollie, welcome! The reason that your target Net calories for the day is 1200 is because your body usually needs around 1800 (depending on lifestyle, can be more or less) to maintain it's current weight, so consuming 1200 means you're "losing" 600 calories a day.