new to MFP and Fighting to Save my Life!

Options
2»

Replies

• healthychoices5
    Options
    Best of luck to you! Have you seen the movie Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead? I rented it on Netflix and it was really good...rather inspiring actually.

You can do this and we're here to help!
  • frankie2637
    frankie2637 Posts: 66 Member
    Options
    Welcome and Good Luck. Loads of support and motivation on here. I have been diagnosed with an underactive thryoid and I was suffering with joint pain, particually in my hips. Taking 1000mg Cod liver oil capsules a day has really helped my joints, maybe it could help you? I'm no doctor but its just a thought. Sending you a friend request :)
  • shakybabe
    shakybabe Posts: 1,578 Member
    Options
    Hi

I have rare neurological condition.. which you probably never heard of but basically I have two muscle disorders together. the Ataxia part affects my balance, co-ordination of all skeletal muscles (arms and legs) and speech. The dystonia element means my muscles fluctuate from floppy to rigid and anywhere inbetween and this causes involuntary movements as tone changes.

I had under active thyroid from birth but never had weight issues under my childrens doctor (cant remember how to spell the long P word!) until I was 16 and had to change to adult doctor he promptly lowered my dose and I went deaf shortly after.

The adult doctors have always messed with dose as they felt the dose the other doctor had me on was too high as he had me on high so it didn't stunt my growth as I was on thyroxine since 23 months old.

Anyway consequently my weight has always been higher when levels were low.. my highest has been 16 stone in 2002. As my condition started 2003.. i was in wheelchair by 2005 but started losing weight... i didnt really know about calories then its only recently I started calorie counting.