Help!!!! Plateau

Options
So I have been on this journey to healthy living since May of this year, I have gone from 257 pounds to 210 pounds. I have reached the PLATEAU and i do not know what to do. I have been at the same weight since september 9th and i have yet to experience this. I am very active on a day to day basis. I am a college student, i have six classes, I have a job in retail so im on feet 20 hours of the week and I have an active 4 year old. All summer I worked about about 5 days a week burning about 700- 1100 calories a workout. Now I am at bout 4 days a week burning about 400-900 calories a week but i am more active in my normal routines then in the summer. My eating habbits are about the same. I have incorporated days of strength training which i thought would increase my weight loss but ive seen no results I have not gained but it's no fun just maintaining. Please give me some suggestions on how to move pst this stage

Replies

• Maple669
    Options
    If you have added strength training, perhaps you are gaining muscle (while still losing fat) as muscle weighs more than fat!
  • FrenchMob
    FrenchMob Posts: 1,167 Member
    Options
    Plateau is another word to describe that your body has adjusted to the current routine & calorie intake. Now without seeing you food diary I don't know if you're calorie intake is OK. What I would try first is take a week off from a calorie deficit. Bring them to maintenance levels, and on a couple days, actualyl go over maintaince by 200-300 calories. Yes, if you weigh yourself after that kind of week, it'll show you gained, but trust me, that'll only be water weight.

Following that week, restart your regular calorie deficit, but alternate the intake a little from day to day. Google "zigzag calories" for more info.
  • FrenchMob
    FrenchMob Posts: 1,167 Member
    Options
    If you have added strength training, perhaps you are gaining muscle (while still losing fat) as muscle weighs more than fat!