Hi. New here

Options
MikeDiet2023
MikeDiet2023 Posts: 9 Member
edited October 2023 in Getting Started
Hi I am new to this. I am 43 years old, male. I have been trying to lose weight for quite some time but I have been having an excessively difficult time doing it. And I have been trying nearly everything I can think of for the past 3-4 years.
I went through a period for 6 months last year where I calorie counted everything and lost very little.
I kind of gave up for a while after that, because as far as I know, thats pretty much how you lose weight, by calorie counting and I was doing it.
Now its been about a year or something and Im trying again. I weigh 209 currently. Heaviest I’ve ever been. I am 5ft 11 / 6ft.

I try and walk 6.5k steps every day and have been doing that pretty consistently the last two weeks. Some days walking up to 8k steps.

For the last week 8 days I have eaten 1,200 calories a day. Never more. Actually somedays less than that.

I try to be good about drinking water, but I might not drink quite enough. Not sure.

I eat meal preps that consist of carrots and chicken. And I also eat Huel.

So far I have lost literally nothing. Actually every time I get on the scale, I seem to weigh slightly more than before.

I have had my thyroid checked. And apparently it is fine.

I have no friends to talk to about any of this and I could really use some on here.

Help lol

Replies

• kiteflyer105
    kiteflyer105 Posts: 137 Member
    Options
    Welcome. Sorry you've had such a hard time. Thank goodness you have not given up. I honestly would recommend seeing a nutritionist. They emphasize moderation and quality eating. A nutritionist can tell you specifically how many calories you should be eating, how much for each food group for optimal health, they are experts in portion control for getting adequate vitamins and minerals to your body.
    your food plan you can incorporate what you love.