Grad Student with about 100 lbs to lose!

Options
LIke it says in the tittle, I'm a grad student in engineering, so things get a little stressful... And when I get stressed, I EAT.

I've got about 100 pounds left to lose, I've already lost about 40 lbs using different methods, but now I'm ready to get rid of the rest!

Replies

• LillysGranny
    Options
    I'm a student, too, and I eat when I'm stressed. One thing I've found for when I just can't shake the munchies is plain airpopped popcorn. Once your tastebuds quit looking for butter and salt, it really has a good flavor, and I can munch for a long, long, time on a couple of hundred calories worth.

You're off to a good start. Good luck!
  • damecaite42
    damecaite42 Posts: 24 Member
    Options
    Welcome! Having been a grad student myself, I know how hard it can be to eat healthy meals and make time to exercise. In fact, I know I put on a fair amount of weight during grad school. :p Congrats on losing the 40 pounds- that is a big accomplishment! I've only been on this site for about a week, having lost most of my weight through another program, but I've already found it to be tremendously helpful in really keeping me accountable for the nutritional content of the food I put in my mouth. I hope you find it helpful, too! Keep up the great work! :)

Kay
  • carolinedb
    carolinedb Posts: 236 Member
    Options
    I second the air popped popcorn, and I also munch on Popchips when I'm hankering for chips and nothing else will do!
  • Korrinn
    Korrinn Posts: 24
    Options
    It's funny you're all mentioning popcorn, last night I found something online to make popcorn in a brown paper bag in the microwave with no oil. I had been trying to make popcorn on the stove and for some reason it came out a little stale tasting. But last night I used an old panera bag and put a tablespoon or two in and put it in the microwave for about 2 min.