Having real problems getting motivated!

Options
I really want to lose weight and I know that I need to not only to be healthier but also to feel better about myself, but I am having real problems getting motivated. When I think about eating right and giving up all the bad foods that I love I feel as if someone is taking my best friend away from me. I know everyone says to just eat everything in moderation but it is like my moderation switch is broken and I ALWAYS go way over board. Can someone please identify with me and give me some suggestions on how I can work this out! I would appreciate any advice

Replies

• bluecollarfrench
    bluecollarfrench Posts: 344 Member
    Options
    I am right there with you, I am just getting started as well. Do you have an accountability partner that can help with the weight loss?
  • Elizabeth_C34
    Elizabeth_C34 Posts: 6,376 Member
    Options
    What about a reward system? Each day, if you are under your calorie goal for the day, treat yourself to something. It can be a movie, maybe some extra special private time with your significant other (wink wink nudge nudge), something you like that isn't food. Eventually, make it weekly goals, then monthly until it becomes a habit.
  • iwantniceabs
    iwantniceabs Posts: 357 Member
    Options
    I can definitely identify with you, friend! I'm certainly not an expert, but some things that helped me...

- I found or created new hobbies - if I was keeping myself busy, I wasn't eating....I'm learning to play the guitar, and I like to paint.
    - Start telling yourself that food is for energy...I make challenges like "Today, I am going to be under calories, but get all of my protein in" - that way I would plan healthy, protein packed meals, which would keep me feeling full all day.