Is walking 'real' exercise?

Options
2»

Replies

• estepteau
    Options
    Absolutely!!! and an great exercise when done over 30mins :)
  • JimieLou
    JimieLou Posts: 273 Member
    Options
    It is DEFINITLY exercise. I've lost most of my weight solely by walking and watching what I eat. Only after I lost 50 pounds did I start doing anything else.

The added weight of your bookbag is another bonus!
  • saraann752003
    Options
    Totally not a silly question... here's what I've been told... by my doctor (real doctor of medicine)

I walk construction sites for a living and inspect them... constant walking at a slow pace sometimes and not always challanging. Over time a body will become used to that amount of activity, so although you are moving and being active, it does not actually count as excercise.

This is where the balance between what you need to eat to maintain your weight and what you should eat to loose weight comes in.

A few more details might contribute to the answer as well; you said 45 min each way, but how far is it?; does your backpack weigh the same every day or are some days is it harder to carry?

Time and money are always a factor when you are going to school, there is a lot to juggle (hence the dreaded freshman 15 that is often gained).

Do you count it? YES but watch your settings on mfp to make sure that you aren't counting it twice... I think everyone should do a little research and find out what they burn on a bare minimum day ie. sleeping, sitting, showering, dressing, walking to school, sitting, reading etc etc etc. This gives one a good baseline to know what they should be doing. If you include the walk back and forth to school, you may find that you are burning x amount of calories but consuming more and then hindering your weight loss goals.