What kind of runner am I?

Options
I know you can go and get your 'gait' tested and foot analyzed and that was certainly the direction I was headed in and knew I was going to spend upwards of $100+
I cannot due that now due to some financial constraints, but need new running shoes badly.
The outside of my heels are completely worn down....an half inch to inch from the other side. I know that means I am a heel striker, but I cannot figure out what kind of shoes I need to buy. Long story short, I am looking for others who either know more than me:) I need to be able to go out and spend $50 or less!! Quickly!
Any other heel strikers out there or experts??

Thanks Guys!

Replies

• RunningRachel2012
    Options
    This may not be of much help for you in the US, but in the UK you can get your gait measured for free in good running shops, and then just say that you will think about the shoes and come back :wink:

I'm not an expert unfortunately, all I know is that I have a neutral gait which requires extra support on the arch of my foot.

Good luck in finding your perfect pair! :flowerforyou:
  • nixon76k
    Options
    This is a great website to find the right shoe for you..

http://www.runnersworld.com/shoeadvisor
  • delta90017
    Options
    In the Los Angeles area too the good running stores (not general fitnes stores) will measure and examine your gait on treadmills and sell you the right shoe. Under $50, I'm not sure for new shoes.
  • lawkat
    lawkat Posts: 538 Member
    Options
    You definitely need a stability shoe because you pronate. Also something with a little thicker cushioning on the bottom since you are a heel striker. Definitely try on different shoes and jog a little around the store to see how they feel.
  • conchita962
    conchita962 Posts: 327 Member
    Options
    Try joesnewbalanceoutlet.com Their shoes are cheaper. Take the time to read about the shoe before you order.
  • CoraGregoryCPA
    CoraGregoryCPA Posts: 1,087 Member
    Options