To try or not to try... getting pregnant.

So I started my weight-loss journey nearly 2 weeks ago. I'm due to weigh in on Saturday but I lost1.8kg (~4 pounds) the first week (lots of water weight I'm sure!). My plan is to lose another 9.5kg (~21 pounds) to be at my goal weight of 70kg (I'm 175cm tall). This said, my husband and I are wanting to try having a baby in the new year. Being I Type A personality I'd love to be able to plan everything down to a tee (including conception and delivery!) but being a doctor, I know that healthy couples only have a 1 in 5 chance of falling pregnant every month. So my question to you is do I wait the 2-3 months that I think it will take me to lose the rest of the weight before we start trying, or do I come off the pill now and wait to see what happens?

Replies

• rml_16
    rml_16 Posts: 16,414 Member
    I think that's something only you can decide.

And I'm not a doctor, but I've been pregnant and watched my friends "try" to get pregnant and I'm going to tell you that you shouldn't "try." When the time comes, stop the BC and have sex and don't stress.
  • mwright24skinny
    mwright24skinny Posts: 122 Member
    Come off the pill now because it COULD take a while to get pregnant when you first come off.
  • strohst
    strohst Posts: 146 Member
    Honestly I would get off the pill... Me and my guy wanted the same thing I stopped taking my pill after 6 months I still wasn't pregnant so I decided to get back on the pill and wait a while long ... Come to find out when I went in for my appointment to get them I was pregnant...
  • jlnk
    jlnk Posts: 188 Member
    I just had my first baby in August and I can tell you that it is the absolute best experience. Everything in life falls into perspective and you will not believe the love you feel for your little one. I say go for it...just be ready to be dedicated to losing weight after baby.