Losing weight faster than estimated

Options
Hello everyone, I'm new to MFP and I've been losing weight much faster than the system calculates. I have been eating my calories. Is this normal in the beginning for someone very heavy (370lbs) to drop weight extremely fast? I lost 2.8lbs overnight.

Replies

• MrsLong1980
    MrsLong1980 Posts: 181 Member
    Options
    Daily weigh in's don't really show accurate weight loss due to regular daily fluctuations, which can be up to a few pounds sometimes!! There are many many variables that affect weight on a daily basis. This is why it is suggested you go for weekly or bi-weekly weigh in's rather than daily.
  • garysgirl719
    garysgirl719 Posts: 235 Member
    Options
    Yes, when you are excessively overweight you will drop weight fast in the beginning. IT's your body's adjustment to the changes you are making. Also, if you have implemented the daily water, soem of that is the water your body is no longer retaining.
  • margojr4
    margojr4 Posts: 259 Member
    Options
    The estimated weekly loss is 1% body weight. So yes, you can lose up to 4lbs per week when having a calorie deficit.

Another reason why it gets harder to lose when you're closer to your goal.

Good job on the loss, keep with it and enjoy your new lifestyle! :flowerforyou:
  • mkitts2011
    Options
    I've read that as well but, I am a procrastinator by nature so daily weigh-ins help keep me on track.
  • mkitts2011
    Options
    Thanks, that's great to know. I am enjoying it, I can't wait until I start to feel my clothes loosen up! Looking forward to getting to know you all.
  • cramernh
    cramernh Posts: 3,335 Member
    Options
    Hello everyone, I'm new to MFP and I've been losing weight much faster than the system calculates. I have been eating my calories. Is this normal in the beginning for someone very heavy (370lbs) to drop weight extremely fast? I lost 2.8lbs overnight.