Issues with my bank . . has anyone else had this experience?

Options
vikesfanmb
vikesfanmb Posts: 291 Member
So my daughter and I traveled over Christmas to see family out of town. We stayed in several hotels all over the state of MN and ND during the course of our journey. I don't have a major credit card, so I used my debit card and I made sure I had plenty of $$ in there to back us up in case of any emergencies. We used the card everywhere we went, for hotels, eating out, etc.

I keep track of my bank accounts/balance online . . I no longer keep a paper register and I used to do Quicken but I found an online tool at the bank that basically allowed me to keep "track" of my deposits and wthdrawals. All good, right? WRONG

Let me just say, I am in the process of closing this checking account because I am unhappy with the customer service and inconvenient hours at this small bank where I've been doing business for several years. I have NEVER had an overdraft nor have I had (really) any troubles on this account.

So since I was closing the account (I was going to today actually!) I had whittled it down to about $5 and change. And lo and behold, a charge came thru from one of the hotels where we stayed, JUST NOW after almost 7 weeks or so. Of course, it has now caused the account to overdraw and fees are going to be leveled by my bank. Yes - this is partially my fault and I admit it because I didn't notice that the charges never came thru from this hotel back in December. However, what business waits until February to collect $$ on a stay in December?? I have talked to the hotel and they blame it on their "slow" credit card processor and they did actually apologize . . but it's just really problematic because I do not have the money in there now and no way to deposit anything until I get paid next week. UGH My bank is unwilling to work with me even though I have been a good customer all these years.