New and Ready to GO!!

Options
Hey everyone!!

My name is Cate. Here's my story, for anyone who is interested:

I grew up in Indiana and my roots here are deep. I am a country girl at heart: I love being out in the barn with the horses, hauling hay, cleaning stalls... but I have a passion for theatre and love to be on stage. I realized that I my Indiana roots went too deep for me to pursue theatre, so I graduated with my BA and have since been hired as an insurance agent and am now chained to a desk from 9-5 every day. I love my job, but I hate being stuck in a chair.

Two years ago, I started running and lost 15 lbs. I dropped down to 140 lbs, felt great, and swore I would keep myself in shape. Since getting this job, however, that has gone out the window. I've gained about 17 lbs, my trousers are tight, and I feel terrible! I went from a very active lifestyle as a theatre/dance student, a runner, an equestrian, and a retail worker. I fell prey to too many sweets, too much processed food, and not enough movement. Now I am struggling to build up my running endurance again, work 8 hours a day in a chair, and barely have time to tidy the barn after work.

I'm not making excuses for myself anymore. I'm waking up early to run, and I've already registered for a half marathon in September. Once the weather turns warm again, I'll walk to work or just take walks on my lunch break. I'm ready to feel like myself again!!

17.2 lbs to lose, so much to gain.

Cate

Replies

• joannemayhead
    Options
    Welcome Cate! A half marathon, what a great goal to get those lbs off :)
  • JenniLisette
    Options
    Hi, Congrats on choosing to lose weight and become active again. I too am going for approx 20 lbs to lose.
  • TerresaJ
    TerresaJ Posts: 187 Member
    Options
    Hello,
    You sound determined! :) You'll do great.
    I would like to work up to a half marathon.
  • American_Honey
    Options