How long does it take you to run a mile?

Options
So I just finished my personal best mile running... 11 mins. I'm kinda new to running and not really sure what time the average person runs a mile or a good goal to shoot for. Suggestions, advice? What's your time? :)

Replies

• Chagama
    Chagama Posts: 543 Member
    Options
    There is no average. Everyone is different, depending on how long they've been running, weight, natural athleticism, etc. Just judge yourself against yourself and look for improvement.

My "best" mile is somewhere around 8:30, at one point. Right now, I'm up around 10:30 - 11:00 on a good day
  • jenronan1
    jenronan1 Posts: 44 Member
    Options
    Everyone is different - what is your goal? Looking to win a 5K, 10K, 1/2 marathon, marathon? My best times were 6:40 for a 5K, 7 for 10 K and around 8 for 1/2 marathon. But - it was shooting for first in my age group in the local race series, because I am super competitive. So, it is whatever you want it to be - if you want to be fast, you need to train fast.
  • nwhitley
    nwhitley Posts: 619
    Options
    Like the others says it depends. I am 36 and my PR is 8:40 per mile in a 5K. My son is 12 and on a x country high school team and his 5K PR is 20:09. His mile average embarrasses me too much to type it :ohwell: I run b/c I love it and I like competing against myself. Focus on doing your personal best and you'll enjoy it much more:smile:
  • jess6522
    jess6522 Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    Right now, it takes me about 10 minutes. When I was in good shape, I could do it in around 7-7:30. I think for a beginner, 9-10 minutes is a good goal to start with. 11 is a great start! You'll only get faster. I'm just starting to get back into running. It's much harder that I remember!
  • j4nash
    j4nash Posts: 1,719 Member
    Options
    I'm running about 9 minutes per mile..