Using Yoga as an alternative to Weight Lifting? New..

Options
Hii

I am new to resistance training and have a question:

I would like to know if any of you have knowledge or enough experience on whether yoga can be an alternative to weight training. I am more accessible to Yoga & Pilates than weight training and also enjoy them a lot more, but I also want results. Do you think Yoga is a good starter on resistance?

Thankss

Replies

• reddi2roll
    reddi2roll Posts: 356 Member
    Options
    I don't think yoga is as intense as weight training but it will define your muscles and improve your muscle strength, core strength and balance. I love Yoga. It depends on how much muscle you want to build. Me, I am very happy with the yoga.
  • LivyB14
    LivyB14 Posts: 23 Member
    Options
    Hi!!

I'm doing the same thing-using yoga for my strength training. I'm using a DVD series by bodywisdom (found on Amazon) that include power yoga, flow yoga (strength and flexibility) and weight loss; I've tried them all and really enjoy them. I have NO previous experience with yoga either and I find them easy to follow.

Best of luck on your journey!
  • Riyam
    Riyam Posts: 25
    Options
    I have so many yoga videos too. I'm always challenged when I do yoga exercises so I just assume I am doing something for my muscles. I just hope it's enough for the next few months to maintain muscle.
  • Genghiskhannie
    Options
    I'm a yoga beginner, but I have a lot of long time yogis in my life. They all advise attending a few classes before trying out a home practice. It's really easy to develop bad habits that will injure you in the long run (if not immediately).
  • Dave198lbs
    Dave198lbs Posts: 8,810 Member
    Options
    no
  • meshashesha2012
    meshashesha2012 Posts: 8,326 Member
    Options
    yoga might help you develop strength for things like pushups, lunges and squats, but after awhile it;s not going to be challenging strength wise so you'll need to lift weights