hula hooping

Options
I have just joined this a couple of weeks ago. Everything is working out well. I am a preschool teacher and I joined Biggest Loser in my county with 3 other women that I work with. It last for 12 weeks long. I have exercised several times but never stick with it.I have never watched what I eat though.This website seems to work out for me to keep track of what I eat and how bad or healthy something is for me. I also can keep track of the exercising better. If anyone has any tips or hints for eating better and exercising please feel free to let me know.

I have been hula hooping with the children everyday. I have been told that hula hooping is good for you. You burn calories and its a good abs workout. So I looked for it and couldn't find it. I can't add it because i don't do reps of it and i have no clue on how many calories you burn from it. If any one could help me that would be great.

Replies

• hoamai
    hoamai Posts: 76
    Options
    Welcome - you could probably just put the hula hooping in as general aerobics exercise by the amount of time you do it - good luck:glasses:
  • fraiseroja
    fraiseroja Posts: 215 Member
    Options
    I went to http://www.caloriesperhour.com/index_burn.php link here and use the activity calculator. There wasn't hula hooping but there was hula dancing. Seems about the best match. For me at 147, I burn 50 calories per 10 minutes. Then log it under aerobics or anything really and adjust the calories. They have a ton of activities at www.caloriesperhour.com Good luck!

Oh, and a suggestion is intervals. If you are walking/jogging/running or doing the eliptical, intervals is the thing to do. Go hard for one minute, easy for two with a five minute warmup and cooldown. You burn more calories doing it this way and you constantly have to pay attention to your time so it's not as boring. Have fun!
  • fraiseroja
    fraiseroja Posts: 215 Member
    Options