For runners/marathoners

Options
I started training for a full marathon in January. I train on a treadmill because I don't have anyone to watch my kids and either my husband is working the day I do my long run or it's pouring. (I live in the NW) I have run one long run outside which was 11.5. I did okay with it, granted I felt it more the next day rather than if I was on the treadmill, but I feel like I went a little faster out there as well. My question is will I have a problem running the marathon on an outside course if I have been training on a treadmill? I use a 1% incline when I use it. I was reading other threads where people say it's much harder outside and that makes me extremely nervous. I plan on doing another long run outside I was just wondering your thoughts. The marathon is May 6th and I ran 14.2 miles this past Sat. Thanks!

Replies

• ginalclark
    Options
    Thanks! :)
  • catweazle12
    catweazle12 Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    I don't run on a treadmill but I would think you should get outside more. Even once a week for your long run, to get your legs and body used to the road and the weather. It's not so bad running in the rain. It may rain on race day.
    What marathon are you doing? I'm doing Vancouver May 6th.
  • pmkelly409
    pmkelly409 Posts: 1,653 Member
    Options
    Are you planning on doing any shorter races before you complete a full marathon? I am curious if you have been running for a long time or perhaps already run shorter races? you didn't say....

IMHO I would suggest it (running shorter races first) because races are very different than training...the crowds, your pacing, the darn hills, hydration and eating, bathroom issues, it all needs to be 'tested' because each of us handles these issues differently.
  • allisshiney
    allisshiney Posts: 107 Member
    Options
    I'm an active runner and I work at the running room.