Comparing myself with others is not wise

Options
2»

Replies

• artnun
    artnun Posts: 7
    Options
    Good post on comparison.
    I think of it as a danger to my weight loss success, its worse than a junk food binge. In fact it could lead to a junk food binge! It's somewhat natural, but natural like a destructive force is natural, and I really don't want that kind of thinking to dominate my life.

In very very small doses it's a good motivator. I will notice how naturally thin people have eating/activity habits far different from my own, which i can look at and see how I can adapt.

As a teacher I see the waste and damage that comparison can do all the time : if someone doesn't pick up a skill immediately and do it as well as a professional the first time they try, they decide they are " no good at it" They deny themselves the opportunity to learn a skill, and they disrespect the person who has worked hard to perfect their skill.

I congratulate you for realizing how this habit can bring you down.
  • NewLIFEstyle4ME
    NewLIFEstyle4ME Posts: 4,440 Member
    Options
    Good post on comparison.
    I think of it as a danger to my weight loss success, its worse than a junk food binge. In fact it could lead to a junk food binge! It's somewhat natural, but natural like a destructive force is natural, and I really don't want that kind of thinking to dominate my life.

In very very small doses it's a good motivator. I will notice how naturally thin people have eating/activity habits far different from my own, which i can look at and see how I can adapt.

As a teacher I see the waste and damage that comparison can do all the time : if someone doesn't pick up a skill immediately and do it as well as a professional the first time they try, they decide they are " no good at it" They deny themselves the opportunity to learn a skill, and they disrespect the person who has worked hard to perfect their skill.