Question For People Who Have Been Overweight Their Whole Lif

Options
now that you lost weight or reached ur goal weight, when u look in the mirror do u see a thin person? none of my clothes fit me, the scale says im losing weight but when i look in the mirror i still see a 211lb person.

Replies

• Sissy4EverX3
    Options
    I have lost 82lbs in the last 13 months. I have always been fat, but I am now at the lowest weight I've been since I was a sophomore in high school. At my highest weight, when I found MFP, I weighed 365lbs. I look in the mirror and see the thin person I have always felt myself to be emerging. But, if I'm going to be truthful with myself, I've been basically maintaining the last few months because I am SCARED to lose anymore weight. I don't know what I will look like. I'm afraid of what other people will view me as. I have never been thin, so it's a scary thought.
  • gimmewellness
    gimmewellness Posts: 81 Member
    Options
    Most Definitely that happens to me too. People tell me I look fantastic and I just don't see it at all. I really try to see what they see, but it's hard. When we were out I'd always ask my husband if i was bigger than this person or that person, and he would look at me like i had 4 heads. I went from a size 22 in my life to making a complete turn around to s size 11. I'm starting to feel like a healthy person after 4 years at the size 11 and really trying to see That person in the mirror. Good Luck seeing that person too!!
  • Kwint
    Kwint Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    LadyLord,

Do it for your health and for your future (your long distant future) and try not to worry about how you look or don't look now. Your heart, bones, joints, will thank you for it decades from now long after looks will cease to be a very important part of your life. You're making great progress, just keep putting one foot in front of the other and don't doubt yourself or look back. Your body knows what to do - let it do it for you.