Bike riding

Options
So I have recently moved, and I live about 5 minutes (driving) from my work. So I thought I'd start riding my bike to work... Am I going to DIE?! How long does it take to get used to riding your bike on a regular basis? It's not a road bike, it's a mountain bike, which sucks because it's heavier

Replies

• DoNotBurnTheDay
    DoNotBurnTheDay Posts: 121 Member
    Options
    When I started riding last year, it took a good couple weeks before I wasn't in pain. I would definitely recommend getting some different tires on the bike if you have the big knobby ones that come with most mountain bikes, get something rounder and smoother. After a couple weeks, you won't need coffee to get going in the morning, the fresh air is amazing. :) You can do it! :)
  • AmberJslimsAWAY
    AmberJslimsAWAY Posts: 2,468 Member
    Options
    When I started riding last year, it took a good couple weeks before I wasn't in pain. I would definitely recommend getting some different tires on the bike if you have the big knobby ones that come with most mountain bikes, get something rounder and smoother. After a couple weeks, you won't need coffee to get going in the morning, the fresh air is amazing. :) You can do it! :)

Should I get a street bike? I don't want to look like an idiot riding my mountain bike down the road...
  • TylerJ76
    TylerJ76 Posts: 4,375 Member
    Options
    Your butt will hurt for a few weeks for sure....
    Just take your time and stick with it, you'll be glad you did.
  • TylerJ76
    Options

Should I get a street bike? I don't want to look like an idiot riding my mountain bike down the road...

You can, you don't NEED to.

Get a helmet though...
  • LittleMissNerdy
    LittleMissNerdy Posts: 792 Member
    Options

I don't ride but when driving through the city, I see people on all types of bikes. I wouldn't worry about people thinking you're weird but if it helps to get different tires, maybe take the other persons suggestion!