How much is too much?

Options
Lately, I've been on a bit of a protein kick... I've been wondering, though..how much is too much protein? What are the effects of having too much protein? Thanks for any advice and information :smile:

Replies

• Smokey19
    Smokey19 Posts: 796 Member
    Options
    I am not sure how much is too much protein, but my doctor recommended that I eat 75-100 grams of protein a day to keep from losing lean muscle mass. The only carbs I eat are from fruits and vegetables.
  • LizSpar
    LizSpar Posts: 3
    Options
    Thanks! I had about 98g today so according to those standards that was good. I'm hoping I can keep taking in all the protein I can get and not worry about their being a point of "too much". Congratulations on your 90 pounds lost so far! I'm just starting out and can't wait to get that far down the road!
  • Blackthorne99
    Blackthorne99 Posts: 250 Member
    Options
    I don't think many people actually OD on protein, although there are many who take in more than the need - the result is a couple of things. One, too much protein in your system can cause malodorous issues when you go to the bathroom. It comes out through your tears (if you wear contacts, you're familiar with protein deposits on them). A couple of side effects can be failing to get in enough water or other nutrients because of a focus on protein, which can cause problems. And the obvious - too much protein may result in too many calories and therefore you gain or fail to lose weight.

I average about 150g of protein a day, and my blood work shows that my protein levels are actually on the low end (meaning I'm not getting enough). Not enough protein is a much greater concern - you can lose muscle mass (including thinning the heart walls so it's not just about looks). Low protein often manifests in edema and skin issues for me. If it continues, it can create a deadly cycle of malnutrition that requires TPN (nutrition via IV basically) and can kill you.