looking for advice on monitoring tools

Options
I am currently a newbie to MFP, been here a week or so. I am wondering what monitoring tools everyone uses or has tried and what you think of it. I have considered and started to research those lovely electronic gadgets that monitor heart rate, calories burned, etc. I once used a cheap pedometer but hated the inconsistent readings it gave me. i am on a budget, but am more concerned with purchasing a user-friendly, effective, useful tool than a cheap one that will end up in a drawer or shelf collecting dust! I have an ipod and the NikePlus shoes (bought the shoes b/c I liked them, not because of the NikePlus feature, my kids pointed that out). so that is one option. But then I think maybe one of those tools that I can plug in more data such as diet, sleep, etc. or something i can wear all the time might be better. I am a teacher and can't wear my Nikes all the time anyway. So, generally I'm just looking for notes and feedback on your experiences more than advice on the following questions: 1. What monitoring tool do you use? 2. What can you track with the gadget/software? 3. How effective has it been? i.e. Would you buy it again? 4. How much could I expect the setup to cost me? (upfront and ongoing costs?)

I know I can lose weight without all the fancy doo-dads, but I do like data to some extent (nerd, maybe, but I like to consider myself more intellectual). And since my weight and health have been a pretty-much lifelong battle and I want to try to find ways to increase motivation to get and stay healthy, I am looking for something I can pretty much make a part of my life from this point forward.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to share your experiences.

Replies

• mrsred79
    mrsred79 Posts: 79
    Options
    bump for later...I'm interested in this too.
  • LordBezoar
    LordBezoar Posts: 625 Member
    Options