Help, I'm not sure how much I should be eating!

Options
I'm new to MFP, so forgive me if this is a silly question. I'm confused as to how many calories I should be eating exactly. MFP tells me that my basic goal is 1200 cals per day with no exercise. Now, if I exercise and burn 500 cals, does that mean that I absolutely have to eat back the 500 cals? Or can I strive for 1200 only, not worry about eating the extra 500, and still not go into starvation mode? Any info would be great!

Replies

• JayByrd107
    JayByrd107 Posts: 282 Member
    Options
    If you eat 1,200 and burn 500 that leaves you with a net of 700 calories for a whole day... does that even sound like that could be correct/healhty based on what it gave you for your maintenance or BMR? I don't know of any circumstances where that would be sustainable.

I understand that you're new here, but you need to learn to think critically about your decisions so that you can be empowered and OWN your weight loss journey.
  • ef21178
    ef21178 Posts: 25 Member
    Options
    So, are you telling me that my net should always be zero no matter what?
  • ElizabethRoad
    ElizabethRoad Posts: 5,138 Member
    Options
    What? Your net should be the same as your daily goal. That's why it's your goal.
  • emilyhwithlove
    Options
    bump!
  • ef21178
    Options
    Sorry, that's what I meant. So, my net should always be equal to my goal then? No matter how much I exercise? How am I supposed to eliminate calories from my diet then if I'm just eating back what I burn off?
  • jutymo
    jutymo Posts: 162 Member
    Options
    If your goal is 1200 and you eat 1200 and burn 500 via exercise, you're not at your eating goal. You netted 700 and most will tell you that's way too low. If you burn 500 via exercise, then you need to eat 1700 that day. If MFP goals are set correctly, and you log your exercise MFP should know and up your numbers and give you a higher number to eat that day.
  • ElizabethRoad