STRENGTH TRAINING ROUTINE

Options

Replies

• chrisdavey
    chrisdavey Posts: 9,835 Member
    Options
    As a beginner, I also recommend 3x full body workouts a week focussing on the big compounds. If you are learning a new movement, it has to make sense to do it more than once a week to get better at it. As has been said, Stronglifts or starting strength are good ones.

I personally used this: (PTC Beginner's program)

Squat 3 x 10
    Bench press 3 x 8
    Bent row 3 x 8
    Military press 3 x 8
    SLDL 3 x 8
    BB curl 3 x 8 (except I did chinups)

If you want to do some core stuff (not ABS!) after this you could also but you will get plenty of core activation with the above exercises. You could also add cardio after if you're goal is to lose fat (to create a cal deficit for the day).

This got me close to intermediate levels at 286lbs squat, 238lb bench, 375lb deadlift & 143lb overhead press at 170lbs bodyweight. At this stage, is when I couldn't progress any further and had to switch to a more focussed workout. M: squat, W: bench, F: deadlift.

There is more than one way to skin a cat. As Dan John says, beginner's can pretty much do ANYTHING and they will get results.

Patience + persistence = progress
  • terri0527
    terri0527 Posts: 678 Member
    Options
    bump to check out later :D
  • MoreBean13
    MoreBean13 Posts: 8,701 Member
    Options
    This may seem really obvious and I might get made fun of for saying it- but if you don't already use one, print out a log sheet or get a notebook to track your lifting workouts. Even if you know what you're doing it's tough to progress if you don't keep good track of what you're doing.
  • willyzification
    willyzification Posts: 95 Member
    Options