Is it possible to get a flat stomach. (Excess skin)

Options
Im fairly new to this journey. (About 30 days) I have 160 pounds to lose and i am really scared about losing the weight and then having a stomach "pouch" Is there anything I can do now to help me get a flat stomach. It doesnt have to be super flat but I don't want excess skin hanging over my pants. Plastic surgery would not be an option.

Replies

• TheFitHooker
    TheFitHooker Posts: 3,358 Member
    Options
    Start doing cardio now, when I started I had 130-135lbs to lose I'm down 116.5 right now. My stomach is getting flatter, no loose skin, Cardio is the only real thing besides surgery to get rid of belly fat...
  • Awkward30
    Awkward30 Posts: 1,927 Member
    Options
    From what I'be read, losing weight slowly is better for skin elasticity... But I don't really know.
  • ediesmommy
    ediesmommy Posts: 76
    Options
    Great question. I have a ridiculously large amount to lose myself and was wondering also. I am walking an hour every morning (approx. 2.25 miles)... does this count as "cardio" or do I need to be doing something else?

As I get my feet wet, I plan on adding something other than just walking, but for now, this is where I am.
  • smplycomplicated
    smplycomplicated Posts: 484 Member
    Options
    If you drop weight too fast your skin doesn't have a chance to tighten back up, and you end up with loose skin. Eating healthy, and plenty of cardio and strength training and you shouldn't have a problem :)
  • Elizabeth_C34
    Elizabeth_C34 Posts: 6,376 Member
    Options
    Unfortunately, the only thing you can do is try to lose it slowly. Give your skin time to firm up along the way. If you drop the weight quickly, your skin won't be able to keep up, and it'll look saggy and loose.

I've only lost 42 lbs, and I have a few spots of loose skin. My belly skin seems to be tightening up quite a bit though as I go along.