other people correcting your technique? your opinion?

Options
I am studying to become a Personal Trainer atm, and I see a lot of people doing things wrong at the gym...
eg people swinging with lat pulldown, swinging with bicep curls, people lifting their back up on the bench press whilst lifting the weight.

It all looks like an injury waiting to happen, but would you find it ignorant if someone came up to you and corrected your technique, cause you're scared they may hurt themselves or they will not be getting the most out of an exercise?

Replies

• wellbert
    wellbert Posts: 3,924 Member
    Options
    Whenever I'm doing power cleans, someone comes up and tries to get me to do regular cleans. I'm always nice about it, even if slightly annoyed.

What do you mean people lifting their back? People arching their back on the bench? This is how powerlifters bench.
  • HauteP1nk
    HauteP1nk Posts: 2,139 Member
    Options
    I hate being critiqued...mainly because I hate when attention is on me. And sometimes feels like I am being criticized... That being said, I'd probably appreciate it in the long run - especially if it benefits me!
  • umachanxo
    umachanxo Posts: 926 Member
    Options
    If I were at the gym and someone noticed my technique was wrong and it could hurt me I would really like it if someone studying to be a personal trainer or a personal trainer gave me a tip. It's all in the delivery, though. If you were to say, "Hey, great job at *whatever*! I love doing those. I noticed that you're arching your back and I wanted to just tell you to be careful because I had an injury/someone had/you could get."

But if I'm doing something that is no danger to me that just isn't 100% correct, then well, I might just feel like you were trying to show off knowledge or something.
  • VanessaGS
    VanessaGS Posts: 514 Member
    Options