just starting lifting and need advices :)

Options
So I just started lifting weights last week. I go to the gym 6 days a week and intend to do weights 2 or 3 of those days.

I've been looking around online for advices and here's what I've been doing for the past week, on days where I lift.
- I start with 15 minutes of cardio just to warm up a bit. (usually elliptical)
- I picked 7 exercises, each targeting a different body part : chest, shoulders, biceps, triceps, quadriceps, hamstrings and abs
- I do 3 sets of 10-12 reps for each.

So far it's going good. It starts getting really tough by the the 8th or 9th rep but I manage to finish.

Does it look good for a beginner?

By the way, I'm doing weights mainly for fat loss.

Thanks for any remark or advice you may have!

Replies

• chocoholicdiva
    chocoholicdiva Posts: 345 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert (I just use a pair of 5lb and a pair of 8lb dumbbells at home) but by what you're saying, looks good to me!!! I'd like to start myself, but I'd have to get the okay from my neurologist to do it first where I have epilepsy, I might need a specific program designed with my seizure condition in mind. Last thing I need is to drop a barbell on my chest, right? LOL :laugh:
  • JNick77
    JNick77 Posts: 3,783 Member
    Options
    So I just started lifting weights last week. I go to the gym 6 days a week and intend to do weights 2 or 3 of those days.

I've been looking around online for advices and here's what I've been doing for the past week, on days where I lift.
    - I start with 15 minutes of cardio just to warm up a bit. (usually elliptical)
    - I picked 7 exercises, each targeting a different body part : chest, shoulders, biceps, triceps, quadriceps, hamstrings and abs
    - I do 3 sets of 10-12 reps for each.

So far it's going good. It starts getting really tough by the the 8th or 9th rep but I manage to finish.

Does it look good for a beginner?

By the way, I'm doing weights mainly for fat loss.