Half an hour at the gym - is that enough?

Options

Replies

• fionarama
    fionarama Posts: 788 Member
    Options
    personally i frequently have only half an hour to spend. I would normally go hell for leather on a cardio machine to burn themost calories in this time.
    Personally I don't think 30 mins is any where near enough if you are trying to mix weights and cardio, so I would do either or. Maybe two sessions do cardio, and do one session a week just weights.
  • LorinaLynn
    LorinaLynn Posts: 13,247 Member
    Options
    You don't need to do ANY exercise to lose weight, you just need a calorie deficit! Exercise helps by giving you more of a deficit, which you can chose to eat back so you have more energy for the next workout, feel less hungry and are more likely to stick with it.

Your work-out sounds perfect for a beginner, and to be honest even as a gym veteran, I often do very similar. Yes, you could work out harder in the same time (running instead of walking, lifting heavy, doing HIIT for gym cardio) or workout longer.

BUT as I say to any post asking, "What's the best exercise?" it's what you love and can stick with. If you find it gets dull or easy, just change it up a bit.

Hope that helps :flowerforyou:

I'm with Berry. A half hour a day is plenty. No one "needs" to spent 2 hours at the gym. And weight loss boils down more to what you're eating than how you're exercising.
  • secretlobster
    secretlobster Posts: 3,566 Member
    Options
    An hour and a half of exercise a week is not enough for exercise to be a significant part of your weight loss. That doesn't mean it is completely useless, it just won't help as much as you want, and you will have to rely on diet really diligently if you want to lose weight.
  • Moriarty_697
    Moriarty_697 Posts: 226 Member
    Options
    I'd say that combining a half hour at the gym with a half hour cardio outside of the gym is pretty good.
  • laddyboy
    laddyboy Posts: 1,565 Member
    Options