Women In Their 40's Struggling With Their Weight Coming Off?

Options

Replies

• DaleArden
    DaleArden Posts: 26
    Options
    Ohhhh this is me. I've got about 100 pounds to lose, although I'd be happy with 70. Since February I've been working out 6 times a week, right now I do about 2 hours of cardio in a workout (split over two sessions--elliptical/bike, then swimming later in the day) and I've started to run three days a week. And I haven't lost a pound. I can see changes in terms of toning up, but it is so frustrating not to lose any weight at all and I'm pretty sure my hormones are at the bottom of it *sigh*
  • geordiegirl27
    geordiegirl27 Posts: 307 Member
    Options
    Hi ladies, I'm new to MFP but this thread caught my attention.

I'm 42 but had a medically induced menopause at 38. The menopause came on instantly and was horrific but thankfully 4 years later its not bad. I am left with weight thats distributing itself around my tummy and no amount of anything seems to be helping, hence me coming here to see if a change in eating plan helps.

I've successfully lost weight both with WW (in my late 20's) and SW about 2 years ago. Since getting over the medical problems I have been running and in the last 12 months a lot more consistently and more often great for excercise & health but no help to weight loss.

I am hoping by doing this I can see what calories I am/ am not eating and what actual calories a workout gives - I normally ignore any calories burnt through exercise and I have figured it would help weight loss but maybe I'm wrong - lets see eh?

Its very frustrating and hope that between us we can come up with something that works!!

Now what I am trying to tell myself is if I eat healthy and exercise regularly then theres not much else I can do but its hard putting that mindset into practice.
  • geordiegirl27
    geordiegirl27 Posts: 307 Member
    Options
    you sound just like me!!! I avoid anything that says Fat/calorie laden/unhealthy!!